When Rasta Reggae artist travel/tour the World what kinds of contribution should they be required to make to the Rastafari community ?

Princes and Princesses must trod out of Egypt,

Ithiopians now stretch forth their hands to Haile Selassie I, Rastafari
O’ Haile Selassie I of Ithiopia, I’n’I Ivine Majesty,
Thy Irits come into I to dwell in the parts of righteousness.
Lead I’n’I, Help I’n’I to forgive that I’n’I must be forgiven,
Teach I’n’I love, loyalty on earth as it is in Zion,
Endow I’n’I with thy wise mind, knowledge and overstanding to do Thy will;
Thy blessing to I’n’I O Ras Tafari, Let the hungry be fed, the naked clothed,
The sick nourished, the aged protected, and the infants cared for;
Deliver I’n’I from the hands of I’n’I enemies
That I’n’I must prove fruitful in these perilous days
When Ian’I enemies are passed and decayed
In the depths of the sea, in the depths of the earth or in the belly of a beast;
Give I’n’I a place in thy Iverliving Kingdom
Through the Power of the Kings of Kings, Lord of Lords,
Conquering Lion of the Tribe of Judah, Elect of Himself and Light of This World,
I’n’I Ivine Majesty, Emperor Haile Selassie I, Rastafari
First I-ncient King of Iration
The I art the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning Without End, the First and Forever,
The Protector of all human faith and the Ruler of the Iniverse
Thou art the only High Priest of the Order of Melchisedek,
Who Liveth and Reigneth Foriver.
I’n’I hail to I’n’I Father and King Emperor Haile Selassie I, Rastafari !
Almighty I, Rastafari, Great and Thunderable I, Ras Tafari !

Rastafari Creed

 

A few months ago Ras Imo of Country Farmhouse in Kingston, dedicated some time and resources to caring for elders  in the Rastafari movement. These were Rastamen and Rastawomen who did not have anybody around to pay attention to their physical needs. Some of them did not have the best living conditions. They had made very important contributions to the movement and some had suffered to keep Rastafari alive during a time when Jamaica society was very hostile to Rasta.

What is a Rastafari solution for providing support and care for the aging and elderly in Jamaica or any society where there is a community? When Rasta Reggae artist travel/tour the World what kinds of contribution should they be required to make to the Rastafari community ?

One model that is currently used for artist to support social work is hosting a charity event usually a stage show on which they perform.Some persons create foundations to do community and social work.

I tried to create a table with the names of artists the type of charity and the frequency with which the charity was staged. I am hoping readers can help to fill this is or correct errors that may be present.

 

Types of Contribution

Frequency

Artist

Cause

Concert

Yrly

Shaggy

Bustamante Childrens Hospital

Concert

Yrly

Capleton

Childrens home

Concert

Yrly

Iwayne

?

Concert

Yrly

Saddle to the East

?

Concert

Yrly

Rebel Salute

?

 

The impact of Rastafari?

There is a lot of talk about the prevalence of Rastafari ideology all over the world. It is something many are proud of and quickly reference in a conversation about the impact of Rastafari. There is Reggae music which is a globally recognized and powerful genre of music. Perhaps we are not aware of how limited and problematic a measurement of impact is especially without a prevalence of social models and institutions created by Rastafari or Rastafari ideology even in Jamaica. It is not that this has not been necessary for some time because Rastafari comes out of the poor and oppressed Africans of Jamaica. We have simply neglected to make it a priority.

 

How to build a Community

If the concern of Rastafari through its message,  is the upliftment of African peoples all over the world,  then more needs to be done in the creation of models that will systematically improve the quality of African people all over the world.

Models for economics, health care, education, science and technology, art etc are important to think about in the creation of alternative futures. Rastafari Reggae artist have a significant role to play in this.

 

 

Leave a Reply

