Small people

Small people
One day will get big

And those who they call minority

are most of the people that you see

Don’t you ever abuse a humble man

Don’t be afraid to wake up

Wake up wake up

Don’t be afraid to wake up

Wake up

Don’t be afraid of another day

“Iron” get ready oh yeah

Waking down the street

Can’t afford to rest my feet

I just can’t agree with my environment

I would like to see what can be done about it

I am not afraid to wake up

I am not afraid to wake up

I am not afraid of another day

I am ready

Living in this time
Got so much things on my mind

Living in this world

I can’t afford to lose control

Speak up for your right

Expect it going be a fight

Better a free man that a slave

Better a real man any day

Oooooh what did you say

Mi Neva hear weh u seh likkle while a go

P
eople get ready oooh yeah

A so we like A so we like it

Small people

One day

Will get big

Small people

One day will get big

And those who they call minority are most of the people that you see

Don’t you ever abuse not one humble man

Small people must get big

Small people must get big

Make the world go round

Come mek the world go round around

Struggle all small people give it your best shot.

“Small people” –  Ziggy Marley and the Melody Majers. (1991)

About afifa

dj. artist. creative director and co-founder of the SO((U))L HQ and DI Institute for Social Leadership. I make ritual spaces.

One comment

  1. This is a lovely song – one of our son’s favourites when he was quite small himself! I like Ziggy’s open and honest style. “Don’t you ever abuse a humble man”…

Leave a Reply

